top of page

CSA Hall of Fame any Singles Tournament 2018

GVP Hall of Fame Tournament       

      -by Dean Grattidge, District 7 Reporter

During this event three players were inducted into the Shuffleboard Hall of Fame. In order (holding the plaques below), two players were from District 5: Shirley Eager and Russel Smart. The third player, from District 7, was selected posthumously: Charles Morely.  Presenting the awards were Gene Eager and Helen Noeltner.

A total of 72 players entered this tournament, 8 of them from District 5.  Helen Bell, president of GVP, was the director of this annual event.  Ray Ackenhausen kept the boards nicely groomed to insure optimum playing success.  No narrative on the outcome would be complete without the fine camera work of Harlan Mathews. We sincerely thank him along with the other volunteers who donated much time and effort: head referee, George Hayner, and scorekeepers, Carol Anderson and Carol Blasingame.

Contributors to the cash funding were The Bank of Hemet (many thanks to them for their never-ending support), and the collected entry fees from GVP.   All 8 winners received money for their performance.

These are the 8 players who etched their identity into the Shuffleboard record book:


Championship (front row right to left)

First place Robert Brooks (SDSE), Second Ray Ackenhausen (GVP), third place Marolyn Davidson (Hemet West), and fourth place Shirley Eager (District 5 Palm Springs).

Consolation (back row right to left)

First place Harry Gregory (El Grande Estates), second place Dot Nelson (SDSE), third place Bruce King (District 5 Palm Springs), and fourth place Ingrid Thomas (Hemet West).

We commend all the supporters and players whose efforts resulted in such a successful tournament.

The Gallery

*** Click on an image to scroll through the gallery (full screen mode is best) ***

bottom of page